It's Time to Enter the SCWC Notable Book Awards contest

~ The SCWC Notable Book Awards recognize outstanding books

published in the past year ~

Would you like your recently published book to be considered for the 2021 SCWC Notable Book Awards? Now is the time to enter the competition.

The SCWC Notable Book Awards recognize outstanding inspirational books published in the last year; the awards are given in six categories:

* Fiction (traditionally published)

* Fiction (self-published)

* Nonfiction (traditionally published)

* Nonfiction (self-published)

* Devotional

* Children's & Young Adult

Three finalists in each category are announced on Jan. 15, and the winners are announced at the 2022 Southern Christian Writers Conference Book Expo in Birmingham in February. (The date and location of the Book Expo and Awards Ceremony haven't been announced yet. A later announcement of the location and date will be made.)

The SCWC Notable Book Awards are now open for submissions, The deadline for submission is DECEMBER 15, 2021.

How to Enter

Here's what you need to know if you think you might like to enter:

  1. Books must have been published in 2021.

  2. Books don't have to be published by a religious publisher, but they should be inspirational and reflect a Christian mindset.

  3. Books can be entered in any of these categories: Fiction (traditionally published), Fiction (self-published), Nonfiction (traditionally published), Nonfiction (self-published), Devotional (any type of publisher), and Children's/Young Adult (any type of publisher).

  4. A submission fee of $10 must be included with each entry. (Can be paid by Venmo payment app to @SCWC-Conference; by credit or debit card by emailing us at to let us know you'd like to be invoiced; by PayPal to; or by check to SCWC, PO Box 3057, Hueytown AL 35023.)

  5. The winners will receive a small cash prize, free entry to the 2022 Southern Christian Book Expo, and promotional material announcing their Notable Book Award win to use as they like.

  6. Mail your book, entry fee (if paying by check), and the following information to SCWC, PO Box 3057, Hueytown AL 35023.

Name: Email address: Phone number: Category entering:

The contest is open to all authors (you DO NOT have to have attended a SCWC event).

Books are judged on: (1) writing quality, and (2) meaningful message. Books are judged by SCWC staff members and selected judges who are professionals in each category.

Past Award Winners

The SCWC Notable Book Awards recognize some of the best authors of Christian fiction and nonfiction in the industry today. Former winners (and their books) have included: 2020: Self-published fiction: Ellen C. Maze, Tree of Life Self-published nonfiction: Terry Long, 100 Days at the Cross Traditionally published fiction: A.S. Mackey, The Edge of Everywhen Traditionally published nonfiction: Mary Potter Kenyon, Called to be Creative Devotional: Lori Hatcher, Refresh your Faith 2019: Self-published nonfiction: Doug Smith, [Un]intentional Self-published fiction: Stephanie Bain, The Girl I Left Behind Traditionally published fiction: Ramona Richards, Murder in the Family Traditionally published nonfiction: Lisa Worthey Smith and Thanh Duong Boyer, The Ground Kisser

Books entered into the contest come from leading Christian publishers across the country and outstanding authors. Let us know if you're a publisher who needs more information about entering your authors, or if you're an author ready to get in on the excitement of the awards.

Email us at if you have further questions or comments.

We look forward to receiving submissions and recognizing outstanding books published in 2021.

Good luck!

26 views0 comments